twirling betty’s fabric clips : a tutorial

These little clips kicked off the whole shebang.

Back when I came up with these in 2007, twirling betty didn’t even exist. All that existed was my daughter’s crazy baby hair: a  mohawk at the top  and mullet at the back. I christened it (the hair, not the child) a momullet.

Sick to death of twee clips for little girls in predictable pinks, I decided to have a go at making my own. And these clips were born.

It wasn’t as simple as the following tutorial would have you believe. There were lots of trials and even more errors but I finally hit on the perfect prototype when I discovered tacky craft glue. Ahhh tacky craft glue – let me count the ways I love thee.

So here, my darlings, is a tutorial for the craft that pretty much started it all for me.

Look how little my model was back then. Now, after I burst into song (usually from the musical Annie) in front of her friends she puts questions to her friends along these lines (and this one is an actual quote): “My mum: cool or weird?”. For the record, her friend just shrugged.

And you know what I always say: it wouldn’t be twirling betty without polka dots now would it?

Happy weekend everyone!

EDITED TO ADD: In response to queries (sorry I didn’t include this originally): in the old days I had to search high and low for my supplies – especially the particular kind of clips I like. After a quick search I found them here (for Aussies) and here (for US and European readers).

I really don’t recommend alligator clips ie. the ones with ridges  along the bottom. They just don’t grip hair (especially fine hair) all that well. For great grip, simply line the inside of your clips with a strip of felt or thin craft foam. I use a silicone gel to line mine but, again, a pain to source and buy in small lots.

4 thoughts on “twirling betty’s fabric clips : a tutorial

  1. Super cute. We dealt with baby mullet for a loooong time. People would ask, “Did you have her hair shaped that way?” No. It grows in a mullet ALL THE TIME. Her bangs never needed to be cut. Still grows that way, really, it’s just harder to tell now that it’s long.

Leave a comment