Edible bunting.

It seems impossible to visit any site with a vaguely crafty theme without finding bunting of some description.  There is  doily bunting, newspaper bunting, mini-bunting and your garden-variety fabric bunting in just about every permutation of colour and pattern you can think of.   Is it just me or does “bunting” start to sound a little bit rude if you say it over and over.  We best move on.

It appears to actually be a law that craft blogs must make some kind of reference to bunting.  So before I get arrested, here’s mine:  edible bunting.

I don’t claim full credit for this idea.  I got the idea from the special party edition of Donna Hay’s Kids’ Magazine (annual 6, 2009) where they had used red and white twine strung through small triangles of flat, red licorice laces to make bunting which was strung across the end of a swimming pool cake.  Very cool.  Except I couldn’t find the licorice laces.

So I came up with this idea to use the coloured parts of licorice allsorts as flags instead.

edible-bunting-cake-compressed

Initially I tried to just prise the layers of the allsort apart but when that didn’t work so well I ended up kind of slicing the layers apart.  Then I just cut each piece into triangles and popped them onto the icing.  I found the hearts at Spotlight.  Ahhhhhhhh, Spotlight. More on my Spotlight addiction in a future post.

I made icing “string”  at the ends of the flags using the icing you can buy in tubes. I also used it to write Sophia’s name.  Badly.  It might be cute to do icing “string” between each flag too.

Close-up-edible-bunting - compressed

The cake itself was nut, milk and egg-free to cater for the kids with allergies and tasted okay. The icing, on the other hand, was revolting.  I whipped dairy-free spread with icing sugar. And then a bit more icing sugar.  And then the whole bag in a vain attempt to disguise the taste of the spread.  Well, at least it looked cute!

Just in case you’re not totally bunting-ed out (or should  that be “bunted”  – now that really does sound rude)  you might like to check out the little bunting greeting cards in my etsy shop.

One thought on “Edible bunting.

  1. Pingback: Miniature bunting for a 1st birthday « twirling betty

Leave a Reply

