Spring has sprung

I love this whimsical poem that my Dad tells me every Spring. It has been variously attributed to Ogden Nash, EE Cummings  and that most prolific of writers, Anonymous.

“Spring is sprung, the grass is ris.
I wonders where the birdies is.
They say the birds is on the wing.
Ain’t that absurd?
I always thought the wing was on the bird.”

Spring really has sprung around here and there has been a sudden and noticable warmth in the air lately. There have also been sudden and noticable arctic blasts but then that’s Melbourne for you.

One of the joys of Spring is, of course, observing all the new growth that suddenly appears and one of my favourite Spring things is cherry blossom.  There aren’t actually many trees that sport cherry blossom near us but the florist around the corner recently had a gorgeous display of cherry blossom stems in the window.  My 4 year old was very taken by the soft, pink blossoms (she’d be taken with dog poo if it were pink) and that inspired me to make our own.

If you would like to do this, all you need to make your own is a stick, some tissue paper and glue. We found the perfect stick on our walk home and Sophia had great fun balling up small bits of pink tissue paper.  She helped me decide where to stick each “blossom” and a dab of PVA glue was enough to hold them in place.  It looks quite realistic from a distance, don’t you think?

Paper-cherryblossom

Here’s a close up shot so you can really see Sophia’s fab blossom work.

paper-cherryblossom-closeup

Hooray for Spring.  I’m always happy when it’s sprung.

3 thoughts on “Spring has sprung

  1. Hi TB,

    I have finally found a night alone without Tim (thank good for work Christmas parties) and access to the ‘good computer’, and managed to set-up my blog. I have only done the ‘about’ page and one post… but I have started. And it has started something in me!!

    I have linked to The Bet Bet, and would love you to take a look and give me any tips – seeing as i am the newbie here.

    See you soon,

    So much to discuss.

    Bin

Leave a Reply

