Christmas and I are getting married (and how to make fabric Christmas cards).

I’m not one of those people who are too cool for Christmas.  I love Christmas.  In fact I’ve asked Christmas to marry me and I’m waiting for its response. You’ll be the first to know.

It’s true what they say about kids bringing back the magic lost through adulthood and blah, blah, blah but I think I would still be loving Christmas even without the kids’ excitement.

I mean we’re talking here about someone who, as a teenager used to lie in the dark under the tree (yep, pretty much right underneath it) watching the lights flash and twinkle and fade and listen to Aled Jones singing “Walking in the Air” and thinking about The Snowman.  Yes, I was extremely cool.

For those of you who aren’t familiar, The Snowman tells the story of a boy whose snowman comes to life and after exploring the boy’s world ie, his house, the Snowman takes him off on a flying adventure over snowy hills and forests.  When they return the Snowman goes back to his spot in the garden and the boy to his room and in the morning the boy finds the snowman has melted in the morning sun.  OH MY GOD.  I cry every single time.

Lying in the dark under our tree I was trying to recreate a moment from my even younger days when my cousin and I lay on her bed in her tiny attic room in her house in London watching the Snowman cartoon on Christmas Eve as snow fell softly outside her little casement windows.  Yes folk, it was a Christmas lover’s dream come true. And even at the tender age of 12 I knew I was having a “MOMENT”.

I’m not saying I spend all of December bouncing around with irritating bonhomie and singing Deck the Halls in bad falsetto.  Although, the latter is obviously an integral part of any decent Christmas.  No, I’m certainly not immune to the stresses and strains of December as everyone struggles to gather gifts, attend interminable Christmas parties, plan large feasts and draw some kind of intangible line in the sand to finish off the year.

But all of that aside, when we do light the lights on our Christmas tree for the first time every year I always feel a true flicker of joy.

Of course, part of the holiday season is all about reaching out to friends and family through Christmas cards.  I have managed to do this once.  In 2005.  I have given up even pretending I will to try to get them done.

That said, I do enjoy a good card and here are a couple of ideas I’ve come up with that I’ll be using on presents and may one day, in the distant future use to send to relatives and friends.  As some of you do every year.  Without fail. And with lots of news.  And a cute photo. And not even in form-letter style.  Biyatches.

Both cards are made very simply using paper punches and strips of fabric.You simply punch out your shapes, and glue a strip of fabric behind. You could use coloured paper behind but I like the texture that the fabric gives.  Plus it’s a great way to use up leftover fabric scraps.

Love these snowflakes.

Up close you can really see the beautiful texture of the fabric.

And some cute Christmas baubles.

Let the smell of pine and the jingle of bells commence.  Hooray.

2 thoughts on “Christmas and I are getting married (and how to make fabric Christmas cards).

  1. Pingback: Christmas Onesie « twirling betty

  2. Pingback: A hand-carved olive branch stamp « twirling betty

Leave a Reply

