The perfect biscuits to serve with coffee

These little pear-shaped biscuits are perfect with coffee because they’re made with almond meal which complements the earthiness of good coffee beautifully. But c’mon, let’s face it, it wouldn’t really matter what they tasted like because they are so freakin’ cute.

This is one of my favourite biscuit recipes and comes from the good old Australian Women’s Weekly “Easy Greek-style  Cookery’. It’s fabulous because not only is it quicker than manure off a shovel but you get to flex your food sculpting muscles making all the little pears.

In Greek these are called “Amigthalota”. Which sounds vaguely to me like “I makes a lotta” and makes me giggle because this recipe does yield tonnes of these little cuties.  At least 30.

You will need:

3 cups (480g) blanched almonds
3/4 cup (165g) caster sugar
1/2 cup (80g) semolina, approximately
3 egg whites, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons orange flower water
35 cloves, approximately
icing sugar to dust

Coffee cup

Method:

Simply process the blanched almonds until fine (or do what I do and cheat by buying your almond meal already ground).

Transfer to another bowl and stir in all other ingredients until you get a smooth, stiff paste. Add a little more semolina if the paste is too sticky.

Shape small balls of the mixture (I use a tablespoon or so) into pear shapes and insert a clove in the top of each.

Bake in a moderate oven (180 degrees celsius) for about 12 minutes or until lightly coloured.

Dust with icing sugar before serving. I like to do this after I’ve served a plate of them to the table because then people can see how cute they look before they get their powdery coat of sweetness.

Also, I had run out of orange flower water so I substituted three capfuls of orange essence instead which seemed to work equally well and gave just the right amount of gentle citrus flavour.

These last for at least a week, if not more.

Love ’em. Do let me know if you make them.  I’d love to know what you think.

15 thoughts on “The perfect biscuits to serve with coffee

    • Yes, I’m not averse to a good friand myself. I love hazlenut meal too. I’ve got a great quince and hazlenut meal pudding recipe that’s perfect for autumn… xx

  1. You know, SisterDiane tweeted about these and I had to come over and see them for myself. I love almonds in baked goods! These really look delicious—and ‘cute’ is an understatement. What an interesting recipe. I’ll have to try them out, and will definitely let you know. I can’t get over your photo—they are so precious and certainly need devouring.

    • Oh thanks Dale – I’m glad they appeal. They really are so fun to make. The first couple always look a bit wonky and then my pear-shaping mojo comes back and they practically shape themselves. I love them, too, because they tick all the requisite boxes: quick, cute, delicious. x

    • I’m so pleased you’re inspired. I would love to know how you go – or see a photo – if you do try them. Thanks so much for your comment. xx

  2. I AM SO EXCITED!!! My husband bought one of these for me once and then the guy at the bakery stopped making them….and then asked me to stop crying and to get off of his counter and to go home . At first I thought it was a real pear, since it was rolled in so much cinnamon (and I hadn’t had any coffee yet). You have no idea how grateful I am for this post!!!!!

Leave a Reply

