twirling betty in Small Magazine

Small Magazine is an incredible online magazine that showcases independent kids’ fashion. But it’s more than that.  Small pushes the boundaries of kids’ fashion photography and combines a remarkable and beautiful design aesthetic with exquisite photography.

Way back before I’d even properly launched twirling betty I used to pore over the gorgeous images in Small and dream of twirling betty clips (because it was only clips at the beginning) being used in one of the shoots.

About 6 months ago, Small called for independent Australian designers to submit their products for consideration for a photo shoot they were proposing to do here over summer. Can you imagine how totally thrilled I was when some twirling betty sun visors and clips were chosen?

Yep, TOTALLY, UTTERLY, COMPLETELY and every other kind of thrilled you can imagine. I did a dance.  Quite a long one.

Since then I’ve been waiting with bated breath for the summer issue to appear to see whether any of the shots with my visors made the cut.  They did.  And I did another dance when I saw how beautiful the photos were. It may or may not have involved krumping.

I love the way Grant Cornett, the New York based photographer who took the beach photographs, has really captured the feel of an Australian summer.

There is so much more to feast your eyes on in this edition of Small Magazine, including a whimsical short film that is quite magical.

Editors, Christine and Olivia, also have a lovely blog called Smaller where they post about all manner of beautiful things they come across.

So, if you weren’t familiar with Small Magazine, I’m delighted to introduce you to it.  Why don’t you make a cup of tea (or coffee or a margherita for that matter) and sit down and wallow in the beauty for a little while.  You don’t have to dance when you see the twirling betty bits but just so you know, if you did pop out a little move, no one would judge you for it.

(All images courtesy of Small Magazine).

9 thoughts on “twirling betty in Small Magazine

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!
    I totally understand the dancing! 🙂 And thanks for introducing me to a new magazine and blog.Will check them out! The photos are really GORGEOUS! I am curious what else there is in there …
    Oh, and thanks for teaching me a new word, too! I have never heard of krumping before – so I checked it in the dictionary and couldn’t find it. But thanks to Wikipedia now I know … 🙂

  2. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That’s so wonderful. All that singing ‘Living on a Prayer’ works for you, never mind the dancing! If I could I’d be doing a Jive or given Miss Muffin is now probably krumping I might do a little pop ‘n locking to celebrate. Well done!
    xx

  3. The first time I saw Small I thought: how lucky all of you are, that have small ones! I would have simply eaten each issue up in the late 80’s. 🙂 Come to think of it…I would have devoured a blog such as yours also.
    I can’t really think of a more perfect magazine for your sun visors, and I am very, very happy for you. Hooray, hooray!

    ‘Krumping’—isn’t that the dance the Mad Hatter did in Alice in Wonderland recently?

Leave a Reply

