Broad bean bliss

Who knew such a tiny green shoot could make a gal so happy. I am obsessed with broad beans and these, my first little broad bean plants poking their heads through the soil, have made me feel ridiculously happy.

In Rome, the arrival of the new season’s  broad beans in the markets each Spring was cause for celebration.

Pale  green and so tender they could be eaten straight from the pod, these were often served in trattorias like this:

Then you would split the pods to reveal a little pale green burst of Spring freshness. Teamed with a big chunk of fresh pecorino, the salty sheep’s milk cheese so beloved by Romans, there are few things more simple but sublime.

So I have great hopes for my broad beans this Spring.

Now, if I can just track down a Roman shepherd and his flock we’ll be in bizzo.

*the second photo is a photo I took of a postcard. I can’t credit the original image though as the card doesn’t say who took the shot.
2 thoughts on “Broad bean bliss

  1. I’m so happy for you, looks like a excellent start. When I was growing up, my mom and dad had tremendous gardens every year. We didn’t have broad beans, but grew huge amounts of lima and butter beans. So much so, that whenever I sat down to watch TV, I was handed a bowl of beans to shell. Mama served them over a plate of rice with stewed tomatoes on top; it’s a southern staple over here. Your way of serving broad beans sounds delicious.

    • Dale, that dish sounds comforting and delicious. And what a lovely memory of sitting and shelling your Mama’s home-grown beans. I think lima beans are really similar to fava beans? Or am I confused? I think if I have enough I will also make a wonderful Roman Spring stew called Vignarola that includes fresh broad beans, peas and artichokes. A real celebration of Spring.

Leave a Reply

