twirling betty in the press and a giveaway

It’s pretty much bang on one year since I launched twirling betty – the biz – and my one year blog anniversary is fast approaching too.

And what a year it’s been. Below is short summary of each and every blog post I’ve done this year. Joking. I’ve only summarised the last 6 months. HA! Got you again. (I know I didn’t but maybe you could just humour me?).

What’s actually below is something I am very excited about. It’s twirling betty’s first hard copy editorial feature!

Is that even what you call it? An editorial feature? Feature makes it sound like a really big spread. Which it isn’t. Which isn’t to say it’s not a big deal. It is. To me, at any rate. Maybe I should refer to it as a feature-ling? Sounds kind of creepy and alien. A featurette? Too 1950s.

How about I just say this: twirling betty headbands got a look-in in the Fashion Shopping section of the latest issue of My Child magazine and you could knock me over with a feather and pick me back up again with a gentle puff.

To celebrate, I’m having a giveaway for my blog subscribers.

To win, you simply have to be an existing subscriber or become one and leave a comment on this post telling me the best thing that has happened to you in the last 12 months.

Now look, don’t feel any pressure to come up with anything particularly witty or interesting. I don’t care how big or small or amusing or serious your best thing is. I just want to hear about it. I’m making the comment a condition of entry (because I love hearing about the good things that happen to people) but I will be picking the winner at random.

The winner will be able to choose whichever twirling betty product takes their fancy from either my Made It or Etsy shop.

The giveaway is open to all subscribers – both here in Australia and overseas.

The competition closes on Wednesday, 8th September 12 at 5.00pm Australian Eastern Standard Time.

Good luck my lovely twirling friends.

19 thoughts on “twirling betty in the press and a giveaway

  1. Hi there, I love hearing about what you get up to and congratulations on the headband featurette (a bit 50’s I know, but so were headbands, weren’t they?).

    I think that one of the best things that has happened to me this year is that I am working at Winterwood a lovely felt, fleece and wool shop in Park Orchards, only 1km from my house. The girls are delightful and the shop is such a happy place with every colour under the rainbow represented. Getting paid to work somewhere you love – can it get much better? Well, yeah, I get very inspired to do lots of craft things but don’t have so much time any more. But, on the flipside of little time, my stash of all things crafty is looking very healthy at the mo.

    Happy creating
    Michelle

  2. great stuff! you must be chufffed.
    best thing this year-hearing that my brother has ‘finally!!’ after years and years of his girlfriend hinting and me abusing him about it asked her to marry him!!! and i’m off to the wedding in october. in the uk. triple yay!!!!!

  3. congratulations!!! You are amazing in so many ways and you deserve all the praise you get.

    Best thing that happened to me in the last 12 months…I found a love of veggie gardening. It gets me outdoors, feeds my loved ones, I find peace in it and I get to learn more and more everyday.

    xo

  4. A lovely feature(ette!) and such a sweet sweet photo. Yay!
    The best thing that’s happened to me in the last 12 months? Yoiks… how do you choose!? Top of the heap would have to be being able to work from home while staying full-time Mum to my wee girl. It’s a crazy crazy juggling act but I feel so lucky that it’s a workable option. And I wouldn’t get time to read blogs if I was back at my old career!

  5. well, congratulations!!! i’m so glad it’s a photo of your darling too! my best, will have to be this second pregnancy (for me, so much easier than the first – let’s hope the child follows suit. ha!) xoxox

  6. For me it’s easy, my best was the birth of my daughter Violet. Her first birthday is fast approaching and I can hardly believe that a year has gone by so quickly! It’s been such an awesome experience, So many bests!

  7. CONGRATULATIONS!!!
    That’s HUGE! You are famous! And your blog really is only one year old? WOW.
    Now trying my luck with the giveaway … the best thing that has happened to me within the last 12 months is easy. My baby boy of course. He was born last year in October and I can not even start to describe what an awesome, crazy, sometimes very challenging, but also totally rewarding year that has been. I do want to mention I also have the loveliest daughter – I can not write the above without writing about her. She is awesome! (She just was not born within the last 12 months …)
    This all sounds like boring mother-talk … I know. But my kids ARE the best things that have happened to me in my life ever!

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention twirling betty in the press and a giveaway « twirling betty -- Topsy.com

  9. MM I’m not the only one in this one, the best thing was my pregnancy (still going)…
    Congrats for the hard press, I actually saw the add early this week in the magazine 🙂

  10. Congratulations on the feature, it’s such wonderful news for the twirling HQ.
    The best thing that’s happened to me this year is hearing from the doctors that my hubby has the ” all clear ” after major surgery that he had 2 years ago & that we’re expecting baby number 3.

  11. Last year I had a routine operation on my right foot which went horribly wrong and within 3 days of having the surgery I was told I would need my right leg amputated from the knee down.
    I remember when the microbiologist told me this news I was in shock but hey he didn’t know me very well because almost a year later I still have both my legs intact!

  12. The best thing this year has been reading about your life! ok – haha – the best thing was the birth of my sister’s twin girls who are definitely the most gorgeous little twin girls born in January 2010. (And maybe being able to feel like I am still having a drink with you at the Lion while I’m reading your blog!!!)

    Congratulations on your incredible successes!! You rock!!!!

  13. Congrats on feature! Must be so exciting to see all your hard work pay off with some good press!

    Best thing in the last twelve months? Hmm, probably the road trip we made from Melbourne to Queensland and back again in January. Thought we were a little mad to drive all that way with a not quite toilet trained 3 year old and an 8 month old but we had an awesome time.

  14. Without a doubt the best thing this year would have been me taking a leap of faith and starting up my little business ‘Sophie & Jack’. It has brought me so much happiness and fulfillment and I honestly can’t remember what I did with my ‘me time’ before? Though the best thing to come of it all would be the friendships and wonderful people I’ve discovered at the same time.
    Congratulations on the feature….. oh to dream!

Leave a Reply

