Sparkly 1920’s-style headband: a tutorial

My girls are relatively girly girls. Well, one is. The other looks like a rugby player in drag when she’s wearing a dress. We’re hoping she might play for the Wallabies one day. For you non-Aussies who might not be familiar with the team (or for those of you who, like me, only watch sport for the 2 seconds it’s on television before you seize the remote from your husband’s hand and change the channel to Ladette to Lady Grand Designs), The Wallabies are our national rugby union team.

Actual levels of girliness aside, I LOVE being a mother to two tiny females of the species. More than I could ever have imagined, actually. I unashamedly enjoy all the fun stuff like cute clothes, sweet dolls and more fairies than you could poke a stick at. And believe me, sometimes I get so sick of fairies that I wish I could poke them all with a stick.  A sharp stick.

My latest project is not something you are likely to find any of the Wallaby players wearing.  And despite having previously sworn off things that were too glittery and frou frou, these headbands are almost illegally so. We all fall off the wagon sometimes, don’t we.

I have seen similar headbands sprouting up a bit lately. Some are really expensive. So I decided to have a crack at making my own. I was doubly delighted to find this project also consisted of the magic craft trifecta: quick , easy and spectacular.

I think these headbands would make perfect little stocking fillers or as gifts for the little girls (or big ones with a theatrical bent) in your lives this Christmas. Or how about as party favours. Kee-ute.

More detailed instructions are below, but I can basically summarise for you here by saying this: sew a stretchy, head-sized circle and glue something pretty on it.

For those of you who would like a few more details, read on.

All you need is:

  • Stretchy sequin trim (Spotlight has lots of colours) – enough to encircle your child’s head

  • Felt or fabric in a matching or complementary colour
  • Glue gun
  • Feathers or some other embellishment

What you do is:

1. Create the headband from the sequin trim by overlapping the ends and sewing them together. Since you’ve cut the strip to the actual circumference of your child’s head you just need to sew it so that the circumference is reduced by a couple of centimetres so it stays put on aforementioned child’s noggin.

2 To hide the unsightly ends,  overlap them then wrap the fabric strip around them – as you can see I’ve done in the photo below. Then sew strip on thus sewing the ends together and concealing them in one fell swoop. Just sew it however it will best hold everything together. This isn’t haute millinery people. Or is it?

You could just sew the overlap and then glue a little felt or material on top to hide the join instead.

2. Get your hot glue gun and once you’ve accidentally burned yourself (it’s not a craft with a hot glue gun if you haven’t – but let’s keep it to superficial burns thanks – I don’t want any trips to emergency with 3rd degree burns and the disbelieving faces of medical personal as you mutter a likely story about a glittery headband) put a dollop on the back of the sequin band where you wish to stick your frou and duly stick frou on dollop.

I purchased two bits of frou. One was extra frou frou: the pink sequin and  feather affair you saw in the previous photo and which is basically a fascinator in its own right.  The other was a bunch of those light-as-air fluffy feathers with which you can drive your children insane by holding them down and tickling their nose. I loves me a craft item that does double duty as an implement of hilarious torture.

Righty-o.

3. Allow glue to dry, place headbands on children and enjoy the 3 seconds of quiet time you get as they pose and squeal in front of the mirror.

4. Receive invitation to the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival  and toy vaguely with the idea of wearing one of these headbands yourself instead of a hat.

5. Discard idea as absurd. Fail to actually attend races due to prior committment but then pore over beautiful fashions on the field showcased in online media.

6. See some of the things people have attached to their heads in the name of fashion and decide to definitely wear headband next year but make mental note to stay well clear of horses’ potentially very tickly muzzles.

7. Berate self for ongoing stupid instructions and finish post.

12 thoughts on “Sparkly 1920’s-style headband: a tutorial

    • Thanks Shea. I do tend to make myself giggle and it’s always a bit of a relief to hear I’ve managed to make at least one other person laugh. x

    • Gosh, I think I would be too. Perhaps you could do what I (allegedly) did to all my brother’s plastic men and bury them in a mass grave. I tell you, the excitement when they are exhumed 15 years later makes it all worthwhile.

  1. LOL Christy, you crack me up!!! Boy I love reading your blog. 🙂

    I have two little girls too. And they are girly enough to want to wear all their frou frou outfits around in the garden while they are grubbing through dirt and non-decomposed compost they have found when their dad isn’t looking…eww.

    Anyway, I love your tutorial, I love making headbands and I might have to try making some of these for Christmas – thanks!

    • Ah Deb, that’s a very lovely thing to say. Thank you. Re the non-composed compst: eeeeeeeew. I know, with a vegie patch, I’m meant to be all at one with compost but I’m actually still uncomfortable in its presence. But, I do love the image if two frou-ily dressed gals digging away in the potato peelings. Pleasingly discordant.

  2. Pingback: Sparkly 1920′s-style headband: a tutorial « twirling betty | Hot Glue Gun Crafts

  3. Just thought you might like to know that a certain almost-three year old (who yesterday called me “MO-OM!”) wore her sparkly headband to lunch in Silver Spring and received many a compliment.

    Bless.

  4. Pingback: Handmade gifts of Christmas 2010 « twirling betty

  5. Pingback: A pleated hair piece (perfect for a racing carnival): a tutorial « twirling betty

Leave a Reply

