Edible jewels – shimmering, glimmering jewel jellies

These glittering¬† jewels, flavoured with rose-water, were met with gasps of delight by the 6-year-old girls at Sophia’s party. And there might have been the odd gasp of delight from the mother as well.

I had high hopes for these jellies (gumdrops? jubes?) and they not only reached those dizzying heights but exceeded expectations.

Served on a cake platter with a domed lid which I lifted (theatrically, of course) before a gaggle of expectant little faces, the reactions of these sweet little girls was just the most hilarious thing.

I used this recipe.

To be honest, I was planning pale pink or blue jewels but I had run out of white sugar and so I used unbleached, raw sugar instead. Also, the pectin powder I used (Jamsetta) seemed to have a slightly yellow hue to it. In the pan the mixture reduced to a slightly worrying dirty tan. But in the end, I got these gorgeous bronze-y/gold gems.

I bought my gem candy mold from here. I’ve bought other molds from them in the past and they are a lovely company with good prices and very sweet service. I recommend them if you’re in Australia.

I can see this becoming a little bit of a summer obsession. These would make a gorgeous gift if you were going to someone’s house for dinner. Or in bright colours to serve at the end of a summer barbecue.

PS: A note on the recipe. As you are already aware, patience is not my strong suit.¬† The recipe says to leave the jellies for 24 hours before popping them out of the mold, and then for a further 24 hours to harden up before sugaring. Well, I waited about 2 hours (and that was a trial) and they were fine. It might be though because, unable to get corn syrup at my local supermarket, I used corn-derived glucose syrup. I don’t know whether that affected the setting time or not (maybe they’re the same thing –¬† anyone?) but it is a slight variation from the given recipe.

5 thoughts on “Edible jewels – shimmering, glimmering jewel jellies

  1. These look great! May I ask how much Jamsetta you used? (the recipe at The Decorated Cookie says “one box” of the brand she used, which I daresay isn’t the same as a packet here). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

