A centrepiece for our Christmas table (or, Let’s get down to brass tacks)

A while back I came across this SPECTACULAR wreath made from golden thumb tacks. I was a smitten kitten.

And so I applied the technique to a polystyrene Christmas tree form. It took about 4 billion gazillion more tacks than I anticipated and weighs almost a metric tonne.

I tried ribbons tied around the base and a couple of other embellishments but settled on this very simple cream ribbon after I realised that only Liberace wrapped in tinsel could  upstage this baby. That is, something restrained was required for balance.

I am deeply in love with its armadillo-like scales that reflect any little hint of light and look festive in extremis.

5 thoughts on “A centrepiece for our Christmas table (or, Let’s get down to brass tacks)

  1. Hey Twirling Betty, I so didn’t get the thumb tack tree until I saw it lit by the candles – bee-yoot-e-full! If I try it I might go for a smaller polystyrene form 🙂

    • Hi Anne, yes I suppose in its unlit form you might have to have an obsession with golden scale-like um, thingies, to get it! Glad you saw the light!

Leave a Reply

