Christmas 2012: the decorations, the tree, the Christmas table and a festive tale of bullet wounds.

Sophia made some little guys as Christmas decorations. The “Noth” pole kills me.

Ee gads, it’s nearly mid January and I am still posting about Christmas.

I know it’s now a distant memory for most but I did just want to share a few things from Christmas chez twirling betty before we plunge headlong into this bright and shiny new year.

We hosted Christmas lunch this year and as well as close family this year’s other invitees (who for one reason or another were far from the rest of their own families on Christmas Day) included a Swede (the nationality not the vegetable), a Ukrainian and a helicopter pilot who after a few red wines and some goading from his mate (my brother), very casually showed us the bullet wounds he received in Nigeria during the somewhat tricky extrication of a person that other people did not want taking off in a helicopter and disappearing. So yeah, you know, just the usual festive tales. What. The. Dickens?

(I bet you’d look startled too if a giant human suddenly snuck up and snapped your photo. Yep, I totally papped that reindeer).

We had a fabulous day despite the shopping, planning and preparation nearly giving me a nervous breakdown in the weeks beforehand.

The glittering, glimmering  thumb tack-laden Christmas tree made a perfect centrepiece.

And thanks to those who inquired in the comments about my poor bruised thumbs from all that pushing in-ing. I’m pleased to report the swelling has now subsided.

I’m in a gold mood at the moment.

The little blue bowl in the next shot was a Christmas gift from my most favourite young whippersnapper. I am deeply in love with it.

In a fit of madness, I made the poinsettia table runners on Christmas eve. They are just rectangles with a very rough hem and actually didn’t take too long however as a result of squeezing that little bit of making in, I was still in my underpants and a t-shirt (as you do around your own home – you know you do) about 5 seconds before our first friends began arriving for drinks.They probably wouldn’t have batted an eyelid even if I hadn’t managed to pull on presentable pants and a shirt. Hooray for really good friends.

We put our golden Christmas poos pine cone decorations on a sideboard along with some tiny (real) cones found on a relaxing ie, kid-free weekend we snuck off for just before Christmas. The ceramic bauble is from Deruta, a little hill town famous for majolica ceramics in Umbria.

The Christmas tree went in a decidedly and somewhat embarrassingly un-twirling betty direction when I took one look at our breakable Christmas decorations and just couldn’t face another month of sucking air through my teeth in horror every time the kids went near the tree. Let alone as tiny hands and fingers tried to decorate it. I just didn’t want it to be like that for them and so, short of time (promises to decorate that night had been made), I got all this year’s decos from our large, local, soulless supermarket. Yuk. But the payoff: being able to relax and the kids having a total ball, was totally worth it.

And since a girl can’t just go entirely cold turkey, I did also end up making about 12 of the white felt baubles, one of which you can see in the shot.

She needed me to use super glue to stick his jingle hat on and, forgive me, but I couldn’t resist including this: the cutest set of instructions ever.

I do hope that all of you had a safe break and have had a fabulous start to 2012. Is it going to be a spectacular year. I can feel it in me waters.

5 thoughts on “Christmas 2012: the decorations, the tree, the Christmas table and a festive tale of bullet wounds.

  1. That looks a very festive table and I can imagine the stories and laughter (as well as the oooooooos when the bullet scars and not just christmas lights were flashed, stuff all Christmas lunches are made of 🙂 Very talented girls you are ! Happy New Year and hope to see lots of wonderful Twirling Betty stuff in 2012 !! xx

  2. Congratulate Sophia on the cut-outs – so fresh and simple. (I like the way Rudolph just crosses his ankles in order to stand up).
    Our love to the family and yourself.

Leave a Reply

