What do you get for someone with a collapsed lung?

Isn’t that the eternal question?

First, an appropriate card.

Back story: my friend took me along to the most amazing pilates class earlier this year run by a former Australian Ballet ballerina. Miss J was the perfect mix of inspiring, irreverent and hard-ass.

Then she went and collapsed her lung. Twice.

Unsurprisingly she can’t move around too much. Can you imagine how frustrating that would be for mere mortals let alone superfit bundles of energy and strength?

So my girlfriend and I decided to put together a little package for her with some creative but non-taxing activities.

It includes a colouring book for grown ups (My Wonderful World of Fashion by Nina Chakrabati), colouring pencils, an embroidery kit and a little cross-stitch kit along with necessary accoutrement.

Here’s a page from the wonderful colouring book.

It was all I could do not to have a little colour myself before I handed it over.

I wanted to give her a couple of  inspirational/ aspirational broids patterns to work with.

To wit:

 

I thought she might like to say a mantra with each stitch on the aspirational healthy lungs broids;

something along the lines of “INFLATE MOTHER F***ER”.

My pelvic floor is hoping Miss J. is in fighting-fit form again very soon.

One thought on “What do you get for someone with a collapsed lung?

Leave a Reply

