Heart-shaped food for Valentine’s Day

Heart shaped fancy jelly

When my kids are berating me down the track, as they no doubt will, for being a bad/negligent/hopeless parent I intend to show them this and say
“I may have accidentally f*#@ed you up an’all , but I DID make you heart-shaped food on Valentine’s Day. So just go get the bloody counselling and get off my back will ya?”

These little jellies were my Valentine’s gift to the girls this year.

Three heart jellies on a plate

They are just jelly crystals mixed with a small amount of boiling water. Much, much less than the packet tells you for normal jelly. I needed them to set firmly enough that I could un-mould them and they would keep their shape. So that mixture is extremely high in sugar. I nearly went into diabetic shock just making them.

Jelly heart in pink noodle box

And are these little cherry tomato hearts (seen on Pinterest)  not THE cutest thing you’ve ever seen?

Cherry tomato heart

I added the arrow point and tail with washi tape.

Cherry tomato heart close up

If you do this, remember to take a photo. So, you know, you have evidence to mitigate any claims for compensation for mental trauma later on.

Little pink noodle box Olive

2 thoughts on “Heart-shaped food for Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

