Fabric jewellery

I recently made this fabric necklace using the techniques in this tutorial.

If you love crafty stuff and haven’t heard of Sister Diane and her blog, CraftyPod, then you’re in for a treat. It’s a veritable treasure trove of crafty ideas and information.

From craft tutorials and podcasts on her personal blog, CraftyPod, to insightful discussions on the philosophical underpinnings of craft and community on the blog she co-founded,  Make and Meaning, this is one gal who just gives and gives to the blogosphere. She’s also eminently lovely.

Here’s another of her tutorials on my to-do list: fabric covered notebooks. For me, this is one of those projects that  has the magic trifecta of qualities that make it a near-perfect craft: it’s simple, fast and the end result is spectacular.

Sophia starts school next year and I’m tipping she may be the only kid with fabric on her books rather than Disney Princess stickers. She’s going to love that. I may relent and allow one princess sticker. Just one, mind. On the inside cover.

5 thoughts on “Fabric jewellery

  1. I love CraftyPod! (as you might already know :)) Luckily, for me, I found her podcast while browsing through the itunes categories one day, and was hooked; she’s awesome.
    I had not seen this tutorial. Yours turned out really lovely—I would even say quite elegant. I think I’ll give it a try. Thank you for posting this.

    • Hi Dale. Yes, we do have a shared love of Sister Diane! Thanks for your lovely comments about the necklace. xx

  2. I hope when Sophia starts school her books have the heart buttons sewn on them too! One can only imagine what HER name tags will be like!!! No permenant texta or machine sewn ones! This will be only out done by Olive’s when she starts school – ok she is still your baby don’t panic !

    I can’t bring myself to discuss the library bag……..

    xx

Leave a comment