Not so much an Easter bonnet as a crown.

Egg crown

I had, in my head, a vision of gold and silver foil-wrapped eggs, woven artfully into a simple, wire crown. Easter in Kings Landing was the aesthetic I think I was striving for.

Which is, I’m sure you’ll agree, ENTIRELY appropriate for a 7 year old.

For those of you not obsessed with Game of Thrones, you’re just going to have to trust me that an evil queen mother having an incestuous relationship with her brother has Easter parade written all over it.

In any case, the reality (as usual) is slightly less elegant Cersei and slightly more crazy Lady Gaga wears eggs on her head. Shhh, don’t tell the child.

Easter Egg crown side on

A few things conspired against my vision:

First I couldn’t find gold and silver eggs.

Then I couldn’t get my eggs to stay put on the heavier wire rim. No matter how much fine florist’s wire I used.

Wire rim for crown mark 1_edited-1

So I re-jigged the frame.

Wire rim for Easter Egg crown

And managed to get the eggs to stay put using shite-loads of wire.

Egg crown supplies

I actually liked this slightly wild version before I clipped the straggly wire ends.

Crown of Easter eggs

In fact I almost left it like that. But it seemed a mite spartan.

Just a small piece of advice  if you are going to go with this look: do make sure you tuck any sharp ends of wire well out of the way of little heads or fingers. Cover jagged ends with sticky tape. Because while a crown of thorns might be appropriate for Easter, a realistically bloodied brow is probably just a touch too gruesome  for this age group.

The child has agreed to wear this, but I think only because she gets to eat the eggs afterwards. Fair enough too I say.

EASTER Egg Crown 2

The three blue eggs have a little bit of super glue helping them along. And the crowning egg is polystyrene and a treasure decorated in a previous year. She is under strict instructions not to eat those.

Back view Easter egg crown

Just quietly, I have no idea how I am going to get this to stay put on her head. It’s kind of heavy. And she’s not going to come at super glue.

6 thoughts on “Not so much an Easter bonnet as a crown.

  1. That’s all kinds of awesome. Especially with the bonus eating of chocolate afterwards. I remember when I was in Year 2 or 3 the winner of our Easter bonnet parade at Holy Cross was essentially a pink trucker hat (just bought! from the shops!) with “Jesus Loves You” on it.

    I was not happy.

    Cx

Leave a Reply

